Extreme Couponing


There is a new reality show on TLC called Extreme Couponing.  Extreme is a correct adjective in so many ways – extreme savings, extreme strategies, extreme storage solutions, extreme, extreme, extreme.  I’ve cut coupons for at least fifteen years with some success.  The people on this new show take couponing to an all new level.  Some might even say an unhealthy level – maybe it was merely coincidence that the show about hoarders came on right after Extreme Couponing.

Regardless of price (even if it were free) who needs 62 bottles of mustard?  Massive amounts of paper towels and toilet paper – maybe.  Mustard?  I think not.

One mom on the show did have a great idea for saving money that I also try to practice.  She planned out a month worth of meals and shopped once a month to gather everything she needed to make a month worth of meals.  With her coupon savings, store sales and menu substitutes based on sales, she bought a month worth of groceries for $54.  I wasted that much on dinner out last night and had buyer’s remorse all the way home.  In hind sight, I probably could have made that meal for my son and me at home for $15 max.

I love to cook.  But sometimes it is nice to splurge on dinner out and leave the cleanup to someone else.  Eating out with a coupon helps ease the hit to the pocketbook.  I’ve always cut out coupons for Olive Garden and Red Lobster.  Now I subscribe to a local daily deals email and sometimes get great deals like $15 for a $30 gift certificate to a local restaurant I often eat lunch at with a girl friend.  We each usually spend $10 to $12 and do not order dessert.  When this deal rolled around, we each bought one then treated each other to lunch the next times we met for lunch.  We ordered water for drinks rather than our usual tea and added a dessert to share.  Twice the yum, half the price.

Back to saving money with coupons.  The people on the Extreme Couponing show spend anywhere from 20 to 60 hours a week, cutting, planning, and shopping.  I don’t have an extra 20 hours a week to commit to that no matter how much I save.  I still have to work 40 to 55 hours a week and furthermore I want to work – it is rewarding in ways beyond a paycheck.  But a couple of us at work began sharing coupons we don’t use with others who can benefit from them and share sales information we run across with the others.

If you are looking for some websites to help you become a better coupon shopper or spot some deals fast, check out these sites:

www.Savingmyfamilymoney.com

www.couponmom.com

www.kroger.com (load e-coupons to your Kroger card and stack with a paper coupon)

www.Coupons.com

www.Grocerycouponnetwork.com

www.Couponcabin.net

www.Shortcuts.com

www.Couponsurfer.com

www.Redplum.com

http://www.chick-fil-a.com/Cows/Appreciation-Day – free chick-fil-a combo meal on July 8th.

Happy shopping!!  If you come across any other great sites or special sales, post a comment here so the other bloggers can benefit from your find and save some time and money.  Or send an email to boyonbudget@yahoo.com

About boyonabudget

Did you graduate from high school or college and wonder why you never took a class on balancing your checkbook, building a household budget or stretching your paycheck from one week to the next? I bet most of us asked ourselves that at some point soon after getting out in the real world on our own. Well we can’t go back and ask for a do-over. But we can help our kids avoid that question. Let’s teach them now while they are still living at home and have the Mom and/or Dad safety net to catch them when they fall. I have eighteen years of marketing (print, web and broker) experience with the number one health insurer in America. That is how I pay the bills. Being a mom, writing a book and blogging is how I feed my creativity. I’m writing a guide for teaching kids to manage money wisely. If the adults learn a thing or two along the way, that’s all the better. Join me on a journey to financial freedom!
This entry was posted in budget, Dollars and Sense, Economics, Family finances, Grocery Budget, Money, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Extreme Couponing

  1. Thanks for the “Like”! Love what you’re doing here!

    I agree the Extreme Couponers are a little beyond what the everyday person can relate to, but have their hearts in the right place (the money saving place!)

  2. Samantha says:

    Thanks for the “like.” Great idea for your book and I’m eager to follow your journey. I also feel “extreme” couponers are a little outrageous. In a way I envy their effort (as I do not have ANY extra time). I guess the goal of my blog, as well, is to teach the everyday person who has kids and works how to do their own Mini-Extreme Couponing.

  3. I think Extreme Couponing should be renamed “Hoarding in the Grocery Store”. A lot of the items that they buy large quantities of are not quality food products. The obesity crisis is growing and stocking up on all these items that are chocked full of preservatives and who knows what else can’t be good. Plus the sad part about it is that just about everything has an expiry date on it. So most of it could go to waste.

    • boyonabudget says:

      I agree with you. I’m just glad I’ve finally learned to match coupons with items on sale – items that I will use. 4 of the same thing is the most I’ve bought using this method.
      Kathleen

  4. Lane says:

    When I buy a small container of mustard, it expires before I can even use it all. I can’t imagine 62 bottles of mustard.

  5. Wow, how do you buy all your food for a month? Does the woman not use any fresh produce? And where do you put it all? Does she have a giant freezer?

    I agree – way too much mustard. I haven’t bothered with couponing because all I find are deals on stuff I wouldn’t buy or need. I would rather meal plan and shop in bulk at places like Costco or Cash and Carry.

Leave a Reply

