Super Saving Saturday (a few weeks ago)


Who doesn’t live for the weekend?  Weekends are times for making memories with the family.  Memories don’t have to cost a fortune.  This was a really great day.  Walker took a walk through the woods with a digital camera and snapped some cool pictures.  His friend came over and they worked on paperwork for their Odyssey of the Mind competition coming up in a few weeks.  Then they went to the friend’s house and helped split and stack fire wood.  Their reward for a hard day’s work?  Riding 4-wheelers and golf carts.  Then they came back to our house for home-made pizza and a couple of hours of “Auction Hunters” on the SPIKE network.

I should have been writing while the boys were working.  However, after a 50 hour week of my real job, I needed a long winter’s nap.  A three hour nap to be exact.  I felt great after that nap and enjoyed the time in the kitchen making pizza.  The boys ate as much as they would have had I ordered Papa John’s so it must of have been good.  Or maybe they worked up an appetite with all that hard work earlier in the day.  Whatever the case, it cost $3 or $4 and tasted great.

 “Auction Hunters” made us all wish we were that lucky.  Knowing they go through tons of junk to find those few rare finds they put on the show makes me realize it is hard work.  So I ask myself if I’d rather spend 40-50 hours doing what I know from the comfort of a chair (sometimes in the office and sometimes in my living room), collect a check every two weeks and have health insurance with a 401K or take a chance on other folk’s junk?  There is a lot to be said for the all mighty paycheck and benefits.

 So what does all this have to do with super saving Saturday?  I didn’t use the checkbook, credit card, debit card or cash all day.  But we ate well, enjoyed the great outdoors, rested and laughed with friends.  The house got a decent cleaning, friends are set for the next cold spell and I didn’t dig the debt hole any deeper.  Life is good.  Plus Walker learned something new – how to use a wood splitter.  So he has a life lesson that can save him some money when he gets out on his own – not that I am anywhere near ready for that day to come.

Yes those days when we drop a small fortune on daytrips, bowling, movies and/or eating out are fun.  But this day was just as much fun and cost next to nothing.  We need more days like this.  Tomorrow will be a family day – church then lunch with my parents.  I’m very blessed to still have my parents.  I’m hoping to make tomorrow a super saving Sunday.  The only check I plan to write will go in the offering plate.

 How does your family make the most of the weekends on a budget?  I’d like to hear your stories.  Leave a comment here or send me an email at boyonabudget@yahoo.com.

 

About boyonabudget

Did you graduate from high school or college and wonder why you never took a class on balancing your checkbook, building a household budget or stretching your paycheck from one week to the next? I bet most of us asked ourselves that at some point soon after getting out in the real world on our own. Well we can’t go back and ask for a do-over. But we can help our kids avoid that question. Let’s teach them now while they are still living at home and have the Mom and/or Dad safety net to catch them when they fall. I have eighteen years of marketing (print, web and broker) experience with the number one health insurer in America. That is how I pay the bills. Being a mom, writing a book and blogging is how I feed my creativity. I’m writing a guide for teaching kids to manage money wisely. If the adults learn a thing or two along the way, that’s all the better. Join me on a journey to financial freedom!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Super Saving Saturday (a few weeks ago)

  1. Jennifer says:

    I love the idea of a “Super Saving Saturday” not being about shopping… well done.

  2. Lindsey says:

    This has nothing to do with weekends, but I am a huge fan of Groupon! I find all kind of tickets, food, and pampering things on there for a 1/2 of the cost. You can not beat that! Also, I am always looking at what is going on in my city, always art showings, free concerts, and stuff like that.

  3. Joshua says:

    We spent a great morning walking along the boulevard and wrapped it up with a trip to the library. Our daughter is into chapter books now and the library will save us a ton of money.

  4. We enjoy Family Movie Night every Saturday night at home.

  5. AlexE says:

    My kids favourite moments are cooking up a storm with me or the arts and crafts that we did. I say bring back the board games……my favourite moments as a child was playing board games with my siblings!

    • boyonabudget says:

      The boy and I played rummy yesterday. Then spent the sunny afternoon trimming trees, picking up limbs and burning them for my parents. Give a boy a fire (with supervision) and he is more amused than in an arcade. We enjoyed our time together – Mom and Dad are enjoying a cleaner yard.

Leave a Reply

