Health Benefits of Coffee


There have been several articles on the internet in recent weeks related to the health benefits of coffee.  I love coffee with flavored creams and oils just as much as the next overworked and under rested mom.  But I refuse to let this new finding cause me to sabotage my savings goal at the local Starbucks.

My coffee pot and grocery store creamer have been doing just fine for the past few years.  There is no reason to trade in my frugal home perked coffee for the venti espresso with a double shot of hazelnut.  I’d rather deposit that five bucks into my savings account and reap the benefits of compound interest.

Back to the health benefits of coffee…things you do while enjoying a cup of home perked coffee could compound the good health benefits:

  • Breathe deeply while inhaling that rich and robust aroma – then exhale slowly concentrating on that pleasant aroma.  Repeat ten times and notice how the stress and tension melt away from your neck and shoulders.
  • Brew enough for two and invite a friend to share a cup of Joe with you.  Keeping your relationships strong with frequent visits has positive health benefits too.
  • Wake up ten minutes early and enjoy a cup of coffee while you jot down your to-do list for the day.  Those ten little minutes of “you time” can reduce your stress and the list of priorities gives you a sense of accomplishment before you even get out of your PJs.
  • The health of your plants can improve from coffee brewed at home.  Scatter the used coffee grounds around the plant.  The coffee is a great natural fertilizer without the less than pleasant aroma of most fertilizers and the grounds tend to hold moisture around the plants longer than just dirt.

If you are getting bored with the same old coffee routine at home, spice it up!  Variety is the spice of life (or so I’ve heard).  CoffeeMate and International Delight often place coupons in the Sunday newspaper.  Clip a coupon and head to the dairy section of your grocery store in search of a new flavored creamer or try one of these home-made concoctions:

Café Mocha

Melt 2 tablespoons of dark chocolate into a sauce pan and stir in one tablespoon of light cream. Slowly add a half-cup of coffee and whip until frothy, then let settle. Sprinkle cinnamon and cocoa on top – YUM.

Frappuccino

  • 1 cup chilled brewed coffee (use a rich, dark roast)
  • 2 rounded tablespoons extra-fine sugar
  • 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 cups ice

Combine the coffee, sugar, cream, vanilla and ice in a blender. Blend until creamy.

Makes 2 servings for large cups or coffee mugs.

If you have any other favorite coffee ideas, leave a comment or send an email to boyonabudget@yahoo.com.

About boyonabudget

Did you graduate from high school or college and wonder why you never took a class on balancing your checkbook, building a household budget or stretching your paycheck from one week to the next? I bet most of us asked ourselves that at some point soon after getting out in the real world on our own. Well we can’t go back and ask for a do-over. But we can help our kids avoid that question. Let’s teach them now while they are still living at home and have the Mom and/or Dad safety net to catch them when they fall. I have eighteen years of marketing (print, web and broker) experience with the number one health insurer in America. That is how I pay the bills. Being a mom, writing a book and blogging is how I feed my creativity. I’m writing a guide for teaching kids to manage money wisely. If the adults learn a thing or two along the way, that’s all the better. Join me on a journey to financial freedom!
This entry was posted in budget, Dollars and Sense, Family finances, Financial, Financial Planning, Goals, Grocery Budget, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Health Benefits of Coffee

  1. jdtharp says:

    I schlep a regular construction worker style thermos of coffee to my office job every day. Not typical for the buttoned down crowd, but I still brew a better pot than whatever they’re using at the office. Plus, it’s already bought and paid for!

    • boyonabudget says:

      If we did not have free coffee in the office I would be using a thermos as well. My dad carried a thermos to coal mine with him every day when I was growing up and my mom carried one to the furniture factory for years. My son is even into making frozen frappuccinos at home. We still splurge at Barnes and Noble coffee shop about once every three months or so. Keep on schlepping:)

  2. Groff's Girl says:

    I have always been a Starbucks finatic. I associate it with good friends, wonderful conversation and being able to cozy up with my bestie (a good book) and just relax. I have not drank coffee for a few weeks, but it makes them taste so much better when I do. Rather than always purchase, I bought the Starbucks Mocha Powder and espresso to make them at home. Much more affordable! I love to try different kinds, use my travel mugs and save those pennies 🙂

  3. Gray Craig says:

    Thanks for confirming what I’ve known for years! The only thing better than the aroma of fresh coffee is the aroma of fresh coffee + donuts + ice cream (thank you Blue Collar Joe). And BTW – I’ve shared coffee in the mornings with my wife ever since I convinced her to start drinking coffee in the morning.

Leave a Reply

